Sonnet's Haven

Health and Art Blend in Macrobiotic Prints

Lines that guide through

22 Comments

READING is always a pleasant activity. It takes me to different places and introduces me to interesting characters. I especially like books with catchy quotes or phrases that linger in my head for a period of time. Some of my books I’ve read three times, others twice while there are those that I don’t remember having.

I rummaged through my books last night in search of “The Wuthering Heights” by Emily Bronte because I was in the mood to read it again. In the process, I was surprised to see a Leo Buscaglia paperback in my stuff. I recalled that it was given to me by my late grandfather.

I started browsing the pages of the book when a piece of torn paper fell off from it. I realized familiar quotes were written on the paper. I remember lifting these lines from the different books I’ve read but I forgot about storing them in Leo.

Those lines used to be my guiding star. Some people refuse to live by the book. According to them, a brilliant strategic move is the key to a good and content life. That may be true but it also helps to have something in hand (and in the heart) that will keep you grounded. Success and money are not everything in life anyway. Being human, you’re not expected to be perfect. Sometimes you are an angel but there are also instances when the demon in you just bursts out.

With these quotes, I know I can be a better daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, worker, and person.

– “When the heart speaks, the mind finds it indecent to object” (The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera)

– “To understand just one life, you have to swallow the world” (Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie)

– “Who, after all, ever truly knows another human being completely? There will always be something fresh about him to love; so our marriage just can’t go stale.” (Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie)

– “But when the strong were too weak to hurt the weak, the weak had to be strong enough to leave.” (The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera)

– “If you hold back on the emotion – if you don’t allow yourself to go all the way through them – you can never get to being detached” (Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom)

– “Fairness does not govern life and death. If it did, no good person would ever die young.” (The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom)

– “I get scared when my eye blinks. Scared that during that second when my gaze is switched off, a snake or a rat or another man could slip into your place.” (Identity by Milan Kundera)

– “Pain does not listen to reason, it has its own reason which is not reasonable.” (Identity by Milan Kundera)

– “Don’t ever tell anybody anything. If you do you you start missing everybody. (The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger)

– “No one is ever satisfied where he is.” (The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupery)

– “It is much more difficult to judge oneself than to judge others.” (The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupery)

– “And when two such people encounter each other and their eyes meet, the past and the future become unimportant.” (The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho)

– “When a person really desires something, all the universe conspires to help that person to realize his dream.” (The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho)

22 thoughts on “Lines that guide through

  1. naku mare, bored talaga akong basahin si Milan Kundera. Yung Unbelievable Lightness nya, one month ata, bago ko natapos. Oh, well, baka dahil sa pagkaka-translate. Pinanood ko na nga lang yung movie version, na medyo boring din. hehehe

    crumbs
    i-view

  2. Ganun Vi? Ako naman favorite ko sya, especially yung pagkasulat nya ng Identity:) Yung Unbearable Lightness of Being naman type ko name ng mistress eh kaya paulit-ulit ko binasa. Sabi ko noong single pa ako, i’ll name my future baby Sabina but when I conceived Sonnet, nagbago na ang isip ko hehe:)

  3. reading na naman?
    hehe
    ayoko na!

    pero fave ko si nick hornby saka si patricia highsmith

    astig din yun without seeing the dawn (steven javellana ba?)
    when i was younger, i read that every summer and dreamt of starring in its movie version
    hehe

  4. I forgot, may friend pala ako na umay na umay na sa pagbabasa hehehe:) Sorry raft3r for being so inconsiderate. Ayaw mo nun, you can very much relate to this entry kasi you’ve done so much reading in this lifetime hehe:) How’s it going there?

  5. Ganda nga nga name ng mistress, I like it too.

  6. Naunahan ako ni claudine, Vi. Baka naman sabihin big fan nya ako at pati pangalan ng anak nya ginaya ko pa hehe:)

  7. Oh, Antonette, i enjoyed reading all these..thanks, this is gorgeous!
    I wanna have this in my page , too!!lol!
    Now, i got another reason to stay longer in the computer..binigyan mo ko ng bisyo!!!
    See ya!!!

  8. Wow, thanks Mitchelle:) This is where I lash out the contents of my heart and mind:) I started a blog in friendster but not everybody has access to it that’s why a friend helped me get into wordpress. C’mon dito ka na rin, sige na:) You’re really going to like it:)

  9. So Antonette si Sonnet! Hmmmmp! Saw you at Avi’s… clicked the link…. kaw pla yun, girlfriend! Hahahaha

    Yay, pare-pareho pala tayong we lift quotes from books. I so love meaningful quotes! 🙂

    Oh, Sowi din, Raft3r. Hahahahahaha! 🙂

  10. That’s me brainteaser, hahaha! Sonnet is my daughter, I’m sure she wouldn’t mind if she finds out I borrowed her name for this blog:)

    For me, lifting sensible quotes from books makes sense kasi when you read them over and over again, there are lessons learnt:)

  11. i will burn all your books upon my return
    bwahaha

  12. Raft3r, if you do that my books will haunt you forever! Spooky! Hehe:)

  13. Ok!

    Sonnet is a nice name. Galing mo namang nag-isip.

    For a while, I thought it was your nickname.
    Antonette – Sonnet.

    Rhyme!

  14. EEEEEEEEyyyyaaaaaaaaaahoooooooooooo!

    Busy?

  15. hehe
    congrtulation me
    i bought my first book since i don’t even know when na
    hehe
    nick hornby’s a long way down
    sale kasi $4.99 lang
    sana lang mabasa ko
    nyahaha

  16. Thank you for the compliment, brainteaser:) Sonnet is a combination of my name’s last syllable and my husband’s:)

  17. Grabe ka raft3r, you have a brilliant author’s book and you don’t take time to read it. Shame on you! I like High Fidelity:) Both the movie and the movie:)

  18. hoy, raft3r! pahiram ng mga nick hornby mo. mahal-mahal nyan dito, kainis!

    i-view
    crumbs

  19. well ngayon lang ulit akong napadpad dito ha!
    anyway, dalawang book lang ang na-recognize ko dito… nagbabasa kasi ako pag nandiyan lang at kung may nagsabi sa aking maganda yun…tas marami pang proseso para mabasa ko iyon.heheh! mas natuto kaso ako sa panonood at experience…
    -yang wuthering heights na yan ang binasa ko sa english lit sub. namin, yan ang pinili ko kasi yan ang mura sa national then unti lang ang kaparehas ko…batong-bato ako sa first part pero doon sa middle nakuha na yung interes ko… nandoon na ako sa climax ng itinigil ko ang pagbabasa. bakit? naisip ko napanood ko na ata sa isang movie ni dawn zulueta at richard gomez – yong hihintayin kita sa langit. sos, napagastos pa ako! pero binasa ko naman ulit.hehehe grade na ang nakasalalay eh.
    -yang alchemist kniwento ng kapuso friend ko, na gandang-ganda diyan. di ko naman siya ma-get dahil nagku-kuwento habang nagsi-shopping ako (naks) sa surplus shop. eh may hipag ako adik din sa pagbabasa. kinuha ko ang gula-gulanit niyang book at binasa ko na yang alchemist na yan… hayon nagustuhan ko naman at paborito ko ring yang quote na yan…sana nga lang eh ibalik na nung nanghiram sa akin…
    -oh di ba sa haba ng comment ko para ka ng nagbasa ng libro…

  20. O di ba Hoshi, parang nahawa ka na sa akin. Mahilig ka na rin maglagay ng theme. Dahil tungkol sa books itong entry, ang comment mo mala-book rin hahaha!

  21. korek ka mare…haha. napagtanto ko rin na kailangan may dahilan para magbasa ako ng book. pero i think kailangan talagang isiksik sa kokote ng lahat na importante ang pagbabasa para sa mental and behavioral growth.

  22. Yes Mareng Hoshi, importante ang pagbabasa. Parang TV yan, pag hindi tayo nanonood di ba nahuhuli tayo sa mga pangyayari sa paligid natin? Pag hindi tayo nagbabasa, ganun din ang nangyayari. Gaya nyan, naka-order na sa akin si brainteaser ng VCO hindi pa alam ng iba. Kasi, hindi sila nagbabasa dito. Nahuhuli tuloy sila sa pagandahan. Agree ka Hoshi?:)

Leave a Reply

