Sonnet's Haven

Health and Art Blend in Macrobiotic Prints

The Color of My Love

13 Comments

IN April of this year, I wrote about the departed American singer Warren Wiebe after having found out he sung Sadao Watanabe’s song, “Old Photograph”. I titled that blog entry “The Man Behind the Old Photograph” and felt it was a personal achievement to have finally unveiled the owner of the exemplary voice behind that beautiful song.

Four months later, I was having dinner at home when a song my father played in his computer made me halt. It’s a song I’ve loved since the 90s but its title I never came around to know. I asked my papa the name of the artist singing and he said it’s Warren Wiebe. Then I asked him the title of the song and he responded, “Paint the Color of My Love.” Papa said Warren had actually worked with David Foster and other famous personalities in America’s mainstream music. Sadly, he was never given the recognition that’s due him.

I told papa “Paint the Color of My Love” was originally sung by a woman and if I’m not mistaken it was Tamia. After an in-depth research on the said song, I realized Tamia was never in the picture. It was Warren Wiebe who first did “Paint the Color of My Love” then David Foster asked Celine Dion to perform the song also but by this time, they had shorten the song’s title to “The Colour of My Love”.

“Paint the Colour of My Love” is a song about the infinity of love and the lyrics make it a perfect wedding song. Had I known the title of this song way back, it could’ve been my wedding song.

Below are Celine and Warren’s versions of the song, respectively.

Paint the Colour of My Love

I’ll paint my mood in shades of blue
Paint my soul to be with you
I’ll sketch your lips in shaded tones
Draw your mouth to my own

I’ll draw your arms around my waist
Then all doubt I shall erase
I’ll paint the rain that softly lands on your wind-blown hair

I’ll trace a hand to wipe out your tears
A look to calm your fears
A silhouette of dark and light
While we hold each other oh so tight

I’ll paint a sun to warm your heart
Swearing that we’ll never part
That’s the colour of my love

I’ll paint the truth Show how I feel
Try to make you completely real
I’ll use a brush so light and fine
To draw you close and make you mine

I’ll paint a sun to warm your heart
Swearing that we’ll never ever part
That’s the colour of my love
I’ll draw the years all passing by
So much to learn so much to try

And with this ring our lives will start
Swearing that we’ll never part
I offer what you cannot buy
Devoted love until we die

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Vodpod videos no longer available.

13 thoughts on “The Color of My Love

  1. wala akong makita. 😦 huhuhu

    Sonnet: Ah pumunta ka na kanina, lyingwithclotheson? Hahaha:) I’m not done posting the videos siguro nung dumaan ka. Eto na po:)

  2. Aha. It’s Celine Dion in her younger days! :p This is the first time I heard this song. Walk down the aisle again when you and Jon celebrate your silver anniversary so you can use this song. hehe

    Sonnet: We definitely will Lenski:) A number of my favorite love songs I heard from Crossover and this happens to be one of them. Unfortunately, it’s not the habit of the DJs in the said station to talk much so you have to call them if a particular song catches your interest:)

  3. just a courtesy call. walang issue na ma-bully. 🙂

    ‘musta na po.

    sandali, uso pa ba dian ang tatawag sa dj para magddcate, –like Mr. DJ can I make a request….? Di ba si Sharon yon?

    Sows hehehe!

    Sonnet: Hehe:) In other stations they still do that request thing, VF. Alam mo naman si Sharon ang galing magpauso pati ang pagta-taglish sya nagpauso di ba? hehehe:)

  4. hay, masarap mag reminisce ng may kasabay na music talaga

    Sonnet: Hehe:) nice isn’t it, kengkay:) kaw mare, what was your wedding song?

  5. very nice song, but i think this is the first time we’ve heard it (with jen)

    Yung baby song ata na nimention mo, wala ata sa list namin most probably sa ibang album sya kasama at hinde ko pa nadownload will try to look for it 😉

    @lyingwithclotheson
    and to others na wala makita or ayaw mag-play have experiencing it also, nagloloko ata when your using mozilla firefox but its working fine withIE.

    Sonnet: It’s the kind of song that makes you fall in love over and over again, vhincent:) You can check the CD “Music for Babies (and mothers, too)” for Mozart’s Divertimento in D Major. I’m sure your baby will love it, and jen too:)

  6. wow classic ballad song ito ah. looks like celine still has a figure those days. ang slim na kasi nya ngayon.

    Sonnet: She was so young in this video, gmac no?:) I can’t believe I mistook her for Tamia when I first heard this song:) Wala talaga sya sa isip ko at the time.

  7. ay kinilig ako. isasama ko na rin sa list ko yan, may listahan na rin kasi ako ng wedding songs. pero yung wedding, haaay wala pa. 😦

    Sonnet: Hehehe:) Don’t worry, Kat, the wedding will come. Buti nga ikaw you’re so organized, you have a list of wedding songs. I should have done the same thing when I was still single. Had I known the title of this song talaga before my wedding, ito ang pinatugtog namin ng husband ko for sure:)

  8. this is one very, very nice song! i’ve heard of this before but didn’t know the title too. thank you for posting this one and like Kat, i will include this in my collection of wedding songs… reserve para sa kasal ko rin someday. hehehe!

    Sonnet: Listening to its lyrics and music arrangement, I must say It’s a perfect wedding song, ifoundme:) David Foster is a genius:)

  9. hay… senti mode…

    Sonnet: Missing wife-y, pot?:)

  10. i not too keen on her
    pero hanapin ko sya mamaya sa iTunes so i can give a listen
    hehe

    umuulan na dito ngayon
    sobra lakas!!!

    pano na ang us open ko bukas?
    hay…

    Sonnet: Den, I bet your future wife is going to love this song:)

  11. This is the first time I heard the song.

    I love the melody. Pero mas love ko ang lyrics. So poetic! I admire songs na poetic ang lines. Super!

    Thanks for sharing, gir!.

    //PS: Kelangan ko na ng VCO bar. Please make it 5 na. At PS pa: may tag ako sa’yo na poem or any line or sentence na inspired ng picture. 🙂

    Sonnet: It’s so beautiful, mare no? I fell in love with this song when I was still a college student. It was a manifestation of the kind of life I’m going to have pala:) No wonder I fell in love and got married to the sweetest man in the world:)

    I’ll inform mama of your order. O-order pa lang ata sya ngayon. Naubusan kasi si Avi ang lakas gumamit hehehe:) Sosyal yang mare natin, she uses VCO not only on her face but entire body:) Malakas benta ko dyan talaga hehehe:)

  12. Ahahahaha!

    Sosyal din pala ako. Buong body rin!

    😉

  13. You’re serious?! Grabe ka rin pala, brainteaser:) Hahaha!!! Next week daw your order of three bars is coming sabi ni mama:)

Leave a Reply

