Sonnet's Haven

Health and Art Blend in Macrobiotic Prints

The Jungle

18 Comments

TRUST is something I value and don’t easily give. Most of my friends I’ve known since my childhood and even though we don’t meet often these days, an occasional text or call rekindles the friendship.

Landing on my first job exposed me to different kinds of personalities. So this is the jungle my mother has been talking about when I was still in school. Back then, she would constantly tell me to study hard and hone my skills in preparation for my journey to the jungle.

Upon reaching the jungle, I encountered two-faced individuals and they are not easy to handle or deal with. In your presence, they act and talk as though they are sincere, nice and professional but act differently when you’re away. It’s also in the jungle that I got into fights because two-faced creatures would always try to devour the unsuspecting me. I learned to care extra care of myself, to keep two-faced creatures at bay.

When I had Sonnet, I transferred to another company. I expected it to be another form of a jungle with beasts disguised as humans lurking and preparing to pounce at me at any given chance. But I was wrong. This company has more angels. Although not everybody is nice and I could still sense the agenda of omnipresent two-faced creatures, I’m lucky I get to work directly with likable people who are not only intelligent and funny but trustworthy, as well.

Aside from being excellent team players in the office, three of my office mates also happen to be rare gems in a treasure trove. I’ll forever be grateful to the friendship they shared with me, for respecting my views on life, for the intellectual conversations, and most of all for turning this jungle into a paradise.

Avi, Jane and Len, I’m dedicating this post to you. As I leave PIMS for reasons I only shared with you, let me thank you for being my kid sisters, for the love, concern and most especially for dreaming big with me:) I love you and I will surely miss you.

18 thoughts on “The Jungle

  1. Mare, I’m teary-eyed.

    Remember last Friday when you hugged me before you went home? I almost cried, di ko lang pinahalata.

    There’s a part of me that is really sad about you leaving (sino pang maasar ko pag lunch time?!), but the bigger part of me is happy–for a new journey that you are about to embark.

    This will not be the end of our friendship. Remember, I’m just a text away. Buzz me anytime.

    Good luck, mare! 🙂

    Sonnet: You’re just a text…and a blog away mare hehehe:) And you know where I am, magkikita pa rin tayo:)

  2. I’m sorry to read this Sonnet.

    Sail on friend. Kami rin ni BT, we are just a blog away.

    Sonnet: Don’t be VF, these girls understand why I have to leave:) But I can still see them from time to time. Uwi ka na kasi kay BT para hindi na kayo just a blog away:)

  3. Waaaahhhh… pinaiyak mo ako tonetski, bad ka! hehe

    Mamimiss kita ng bonggang-bongga lalo na ang:
    1. kabagalan mo sa paghuhugas sa pantry.
    2. ang kadaldalan at stories mo tuwing lunch break
    3. ang pagkaray sa akin sa kung saan-saan (Salamat ng todo sa Vertical Horizon experience. Iba ka!)
    4. ang pang-aasar mo sa akin
    5. ang panlalait mo kay zanjoe at jay-r. hmmmp
    6. hello bebe! at sweetie, kumain ka na?
    7. ang malakas at dire-direchong pagtipa sa keyboard
    8. ang cute stories about sonnet
    9. mga chismis
    10. ang pang-ookray moments
    11. ang pagkakaroon ko ng LSS dahil sa pagpapatugtog mo
    12. VCO, VCO :p
    13. at ang sisterly (motherly?) advices at pointers

    Like Avi, part of me is sad that you’re leaving but I know you have certain priorities. i’ll always be thankful for the friendship I found in you! (Ayyyy, ang drama na. hehe)

    Just keep in touch. Good luck, mommy tonetski! **yakap**

    Sonnet: hehehe:) ‘Wag ka ganyan, ako naiiyak sa ginawa mo Lenski. Dyan lang ako sa tabi-tabi, you know:) Teka, ba’t ganyan ang spelling ng Switee ko? Wrong spelling ka ah, i-tama mo ‘yan hehehe:) Kidding aside, I’ll forever cherish the sweet and funny you, Lenski:) Salamat sa pagsalo sa mga panlalait ko kay Diego este Zanjoe pala, at Julius Babao, ay si Jay-r pala yon:)

  4. Hindi ako teary-eyed ( nagmumuta) pero sad din niempre ako ( as in “niempre ñamen” ni mahal). Ikaw ang guro ko eh… alam na alam ni VF ‘yan, lalo na sa pagka-olive green at siempre sa professional side.
    Ur lyk a bulalakaw from tayuman to cainta dahil isa kang planet Jupiter sa help na ibinigay mo sa akin. Dahil di ba naman eh isang batikan at ex bullenista (manila bulletin) ang hahawak sa aking mainit-init na section before. Kampante na akong makapagliwaliw kahit papaano. Ang gusto ko pa sa iyo mare ay ang palabang attitude kapag nadedehado sa mga lakaran.
    Laha ng yon ay ikikintal ko sa aking murang isipan at isisibat sa mga yuyurak sa aking propesyon.. hahah may ganun… sugod mga Bisaya!
    Basta mare more power sa iyo! Pag nagpa-birthday ka ulit para kay Sonnet ng bongga e… dito lang ako at ang mga alagad ni Dora… joke!
    Gaya ni Avi and len… kung need mo ako… mag-comment ka sa hoshilandia at mag-testi sa friendster ko at tiyak magre-respond ako sa iyo (so kapag wla nun, sorry na lang) hahahaha!
    Mabuhay and vaya con Dios!

    Sonnet: Mare, matindi ang gamit mo ng mga simile at metaphor dito ah hahaha!!! Aliw talaga ako hahaha!!! Keep in touch mare ha? If you can’t reach me through this blog, my friendster, facebook, and cellphone, puntahan mo na lang ako hehehe:)

  5. Off topic..

    sayang di ka naka attend sa wordcamp madami magagaling na nandoon maliban sa’kin, hehe..bali-balita may ’09 daw..sana free ulit yung susunod

    Sonnet: Sayang nga eh hindi ko nakahalubilo ang magagaling tulad mo ikabon hehehe:) Kung meron ulit next year, I’m definitely going to be present:) ‘Yon nga lang sana free pa rin kasi after its success last Saturday baka may registration fee na sa susunod:)

  6. let me correct that first post. sorry, my mind worked faster than my fingers again.

    “if you need another friend,
    andian lang kami ni BT
    sa tabi-tabi.

    And if BT needs VCO
    huwag mo sanang
    itanggi.
    Kundi ako naman
    ang malulugi
    pag umitim ng umitim
    ang irog kong si BT!

    🙂

    //sail on friend. sooner or later you’ll find a place where you don’t always need to prove yourself.

    ika nga sa awit: “love me for what i am.”

    🙂 Sharon C ba ulit yun?

    Sonnet: Si Karen Carpenter kumanta no’n not Sharon C hehehe:) Don’t worry, hinding hindi ko tatanggihan si BT ng VCO, that I can guarantee you kasi like Avi, number one client ko ‘yan:) The good news is, I can personally deliver her orders now kasi iba na ang new sked ko hehehe:) On a serious note, thank you for the kind words VF:) I’ll keep in touch with you and BT:)

  7. awww ang sweet naman! hehe. kelangan ko gawan din yata ng ganito mga frends ko ah. kaso ang gay pag ginawa ko yun!! hahaha.

    seriously jungle talaga ang mundo natin kahit saan tayo magpunta.dalwa lang yan. isa ka sa mga hayop sa gubat or isa ka sa mga tao..

    Sonnet: Hahaha:) Gay ba ang dating pag sa inyong mga lalaki? Hindi naman siguro. It’s sweet to express your appreciation for your friends:) Buti na lang may nakita akong mga tao kasi sa previous work ko, ako lang ang tao puro hayop na ang kasama ko hehehe:) Totoo yon.

  8. awwww, kudos to you for taking the plunge, hindi madali ang magpalit ng trabaho. at sigurado ko, ayan na nga sila at nagiwan na ng mga bakas, ang mga tunay na naging kaibigan mo ay mananatiling andyan pa rin. ang sarap naman, kasi karamihan sa kaibigan mo pala e ka-blag ko rin 🙂

    Sonnet: Korek kengks:) Kaya nasa isang circle lang tayo hehehe:) Totoong dugong kaibigan ang mga yan, walang halong microchip:)

  9. you’re lucky to find real friends in work. not that i’ve already experienced such, but i know people who’re having the same problems you had in your previous work. 🙂 and you’re friends are lucky to have you in the same way – may entry pa sila dito o! hehehe 🙂

    Sonnet: I found them when I least expected it Carol kasi nadala na ako in my previous job. I guess, we’re destined to be friends so everything just fell into place. Pansin mo rin pala ang mga entries nila? Ay comment ba yon? Parang blog entry na kasi sa haba hahaha:)

  10. Does it mean your going to your 3rd job? (if i understand it correctly)

    I think i visited PIMS, I met the Japanese lady (not sure if its PIMS but its along emerald ave. nga ba..)

    Hope we find true friends like you did and still will in the jungles we’re currently in and to the jungle’s we’re going to…

    Antonette pla true name mo? 😉

    Sonnet: yup yup, vhincent:) Japanese lady? Who could that be? marami kasi silang japanese dito eh hehehe:) Our office is at the orient square along emerald ave.

    You’ll manage to find friends in your job pero ilan-ilan lang talaga sila so once we’ve found them, we should take care of them:) And yes, my real name’s antonette. I just borrowed my little angel’s name for this blog kasi mas maganda:)

  11. I already forgot the name of the japanese lady, Its a really a small work don ka pla nagwowork 🙂

    “think i read it in your previous post kay baby sonnet nakapangalan blog mo, Ely name ng hubby mo right? lol (jaz kidding) or somewhere that starts with the letter S…? + Antonette = Sonnet? wild guest lang …

    Sonnet: Vhincent, siguro the japanese lady’s name is takeuchi? Musta na kaya sila? It took me a while to check my blog coz I got pretty excited in my new work tsaka and my news tasks kind of overwhelmed me hehehe:)

    Ahh…my hubby’s name is Johnson but we coined “Son” from him and ‘net’ from my name to come up with Sonnet. How’s Jen?

  12. Hayyo mare. I wish you the best. Lagi.

    “Life’s a jungle.” Hihiramin ko tong phrase na to in one of my posts, ha? 😉 And hey, been there. It’s really hard to be with two-faced people. Di ko rin kaya. But, always, dun sa mga trabaho na pinuntahan ko, it was difficult to leave, kasi mahirap mang-iawan ng friends. Pero we have to move on. We need to find a place na naa-appreciate yung mga ginagawa natin. Yung hindi walang kakagat sa atin patalikod. I know you’ll find that.

    Kung wala talaga, meron pa namang ‘freelance!’ 😉

    Hug, mare. You’ll be fine, I know. God bless. 🙂

    Sonnet: Hello, sherma! I hardly have time to check my blog and yours as well coz I’ve been really busy at my new job. Everything here is so new and exciting, I love what I’m doing here:) Though I’m really missing everybody in Pinoy Gazette. Girl, I’ll inform you pag may VCO bars na ha? Di pa dumating eh.
    —————-

    Heyyo VF! I love it pag magulo ka at nangungulit, although natatakot ako minsan kasi baka may mapikon ka. But I know deep inside, there is seriousness in you that is precious. An intelligent side. And above all, a strength and unwavering support na lumalabas when the people you care about needs it. I like what you said here, more so because I know you mean it.

    Kahit na mali ka ng hula sa singer. 🙂 Sharon C ka dian! 🙂

  13. Yung hindi walang kakagat sa atin patalikod. Should be “Yung walang kakagat…”

    Huuuuuuuuuu!

    Sonnet:Ay hindi ko ata napansin ang mali dun hehe:)

  14. good luck, sonnet

    kayang-kaya mo yan
    ikaw pa

    iba yata pag batang jasms!!!

    Greetings from Vegas!
    =)

    Sonnet: Thanks denoy:) I’ll see you soon!:)

  15. God bless ate sonnet sa bagong path na tatahakin mo..

    ang sweet naman ng maraming friend ano??

    nakakarelate ako nun nagpalit din ako ng job noon.. haiizzz musta na kaya sila? 😉

    Sonnet: Thank you, Lambing:) Masarap talaga magkaroon ng real friends kaya we should keep in touch with them:)

  16. TOK! TOK! TOK! (Martilio na yan na pinangpupokpok ko sa inyo para magising kayo!)

    Di nyo ba nami-miss si VF? Sa susunod, granada na ang gagamitin ko!

    🙂

    Musta na Aleng Tonette?

    Sonnet: Hello, VF:) Busy here kaya di ako masyado nakakabista sa mga bloggers pero I’ll find time once I’ve adjusted to my new job. It’s really exciting and I’m enjoying every single day at work:)

  17. hi ate tonet!hehe, i read this blog…sa jungle tlg iba-iba klase mga “hayup”, nyahaha…i hope you enjoy more working with us, so far nakaka-one month kana diba?…just beware sa mga two-faced “hayups” na yan…haha…(learned a lot from my experience here) ;p

  18. Let me guess, sweetsoulenigma is jongski! Thanks for dropping by my haven:) See, hindi ako naka-admin coz they might see my personal email add hehehe:) I really enjoy working with the entire SEO team, Jong:) Don’t let the two-faced “hayups” get into your nerves. Get into theirs hahaha!!! It pays to master discretion:)

Leave a Reply

