Sonnet's Haven

Health and Art Blend in Macrobiotic Prints

Angry Birds vs. Super Mario Bros.

Leave a comment

I have always considered mushroom a wonderful substitute for meat.  I remember my mother used to bring home barbecue mushroom when my brother and I were still kids.  The first time I tasted it, I liked it instantly and so did my big brother — until he realized that it wasn’t pork but mushroom.

That restaurant from which my mama would order barbecue mushroom has an amazing way of changing the texture of vegetables into that of meat.  According to the restaurant owner, this is their way of enticing carnivorous people to eat vegetables; which is good  for one’s body.

Perhaps my love for mushroom is the reason I got addicted to Super Mario Bros., a popular Nintendo game during the 90s.  In this video game, all  Mario and Luigi needed to grow is a single mushroom.  It’s also this vegetable that keeps them alive; the more mushrooms they have, the longer they live.


The addiction of today’s kids to Angry Birds best describes my obsession with Super Mario Bros. when I was in elementary, or I think that was high school.  Honestly, though, I do not see the thrill in playing Angry Birds so I refuse to compare it with my all-time favorite video game.

Sonnet loves Super Mario, too:)

First of all, the angry birds are shooting the pigs that stole their eggs from just one location.  In Super Mario, both brothers collect mushrooms to earn lives and grow, walk through water pipes, stomp Goombas and punch Koopa Turtles underground, defeat more Goombas and Koopa Paratroopa aboveground, climb a long stairway where they can get 100 lives out of banging a Koopa Turtle’s shell against one of the steps, and kill a horrifying dragon before saving Princess Peach.

In other words, Super Mario Bros. is full of action, so playing Angry Birds is synonymous with listening to my Sonnet’s lullabies on Baby TV.

Besides, I wouldn’t kill for eggs that are heavy in cholesterol, that trigger inflammation, and are usually bad for the heart.  I’d rather harvest mushrooms and preserve my life.  Health matters even in video games.

Leave a Reply

