Sonnet's Haven

Health and Art Blend in Macrobiotic Prints

Health Benefits of My Favorite Food

Leave a comment

Merriam Webster defines diet as “food and drink regularly provided or consumed.”  Although you can also define this word as eating and drinking sparingly to reduce weight, it would be unfair to stick only to this definition.

Macrobiotic diet has nothing to do with cutting off weight, at least for me, since I have never had weight problems.  I don’t know if this can be attributed to the nature of my work, or maybe to my parents who would constantly preach about the health benefits of fruits and vegetables.

Aside from getting rid of the eczema on my right hand, which is now completely gone, there is no other reason why I got into the macrobiotic diet.  This health care program helps prevent diseases that hinder the body from functioning normally.  Besides, I am one of the few people who refuse to take medicines and go to the doctor.  Truth is, I can flush off fever with water and fresh fruit.

Just like everybody else, though, I am getting older.

When you are in your mid-30s you have to take extra care of yourself because you’ll never know what can hit you.  Since I refuse to take  vitamins and food supplements, I decided to overhaul my diet.

I removed unnecessary items, namely: white rice, white bread, fried food, palm oil, vegetable oil, artificial sweeteners, and anything packed with preservatives.  I told myself that everything has to be fresh.

Thank you, Mama and Papa, for this box of healthy chocolate.

So when my friends learned about my advocacy for better health, they said I should do away with chocolate, too.  I curiously asked them, what is wrong with chocolate?

Nothing.

Bitter dark chocolate offers an array of health benefits.  Vain people, especially those who spend thousands for cosmetic procedures, should know that chocolate tightens and strengthens skin collagen.  By eating this delicious treat in moderation, you can actually maintain your youthful features and save a chunk of money, which you would have otherwise spent on a medical procedure that will only last a year or two.

Aside from its aesthetic attributes, cacao also reduces stroke and regulates blood pressure.  Anyone who is at risk of arterial diseases should consider including dark chocolate in his diet, as this prevents blood clotting and plaque buildup on the artery walls.

Chocolate, however, is not just a disease prevention tool.  Notice that when you bite a chocolate bar you are happy in an instant.  This is because chocolates release a chemical compound, the same compound that a person’s brain releases when he is in love or attracted to somebody.

Chocolate is also an excellent memory enhancer, thus perfect for people whose jobs require them to be multitasking.

That said, I’ll now go and get a piece of my yummy Royce.

Leave a Reply

