Sonnet's Haven

Health and Art Blend in Macrobiotic Prints

Craving for Fried Food?

Leave a comment

Since starting my macrobiotic diet, I have religiously stayed away from fried food.  One day, though, I tried something different.

Mama paid me a visit and brought some uncooked spring rolls.  She said they contain carrots, mushrooms, cabbage, and ginger.  I would normally eat vegan spring rolls fresh or steamed because this is always the best way to eat spring rolls.  Then I remembered that Sonnet told me earlier that day that one of her classmates had let her taste something during lunch period in school; crunchy and juicy were the adjectives she used to describe the dish.

That made me feel slightly guilty because I realized that I have been depriving my daughter of food that other kids would just eat on a daily basis.  I realized that it won’t hurt to give her some fried food once in a while, and I can make this possible without palm oil or vegetable oil — the culprits of arterial diseases.

I drizzled the pan with some olive oil before heating it.  Next, I placed the spring rolls in the pan to fry for two minutes.  Aside from its aroma, which palm and vegetable oils are devoid of, olive oil has so many health benefits.   It’s rich with antioxidants that protect the skin from all possible toxins.  It also retains moisture in the skin, thus keeping it soft and supple.

Regular use of olive oil will also prevent all types of cancer.

Aside from all of its health benefits, olive oil makes for excellent fried food; so, why settle for unhealthy oils?

Leave a Reply

